Obama commentary

“[Barack] Obama represents the merger of two of the worst aspects of Democratic politics—’60s radicalism and corrupt Chicago machine politics. With the addition of Slow Joe Biden to the ticket, Obama has added to his unsteady candidacy an epic amount of Beltway cluelessness and arrogance unsupported by anything except frequent flier miles and Delaware’s love for a chuckle-headed fellow with a big smile… I was worried that the Dems had pointed out to Obama that his serial gaffing had brought the campaign close to a break point and that he needed Hillary. I was worried he’d actually go find Anthony Zinni or Sam Nunn or someone of accomplishment and purposefulness in foreign affairs. [Jim] Webb would have been hell on the stump. [Tim] Kaine or [Evan] Bayh would have put different states into play. [Kathleen] Sebelius was a wild card. But Biden?… Put Biden’s obvious flaws aside and ask yourself how in the world Obama decided to go with Biden, and you’ll quickly realize that the Democratic nominee must have been impressed with Biden on the long campaign trail of 2007 and 2008—even though voters weren’t and even though Biden has no accomplishments of note after 36 years in the Senate. Biden talked a great game and dropped some very interesting place names—and this impressed Obama. Talking the talk has been the key to Obama’s success, and in Slow Joe he found an older, far better traveled but equally prolix gas bag… For Obama, it is all about politics and words, elections and poses. Slow Joe is the perfect running mate on a perfect ticket for a party betting on wind to solve the energy crisis.” —Hugh Hewitt

“There are two other issues with which Mr. Obama must grapple, and far from helping with any of these, Mr. Biden actually makes Mr. Obama’s path more difficult. The first is that Mr. Obama’s other big challenge is convincing moderate Americans he shares their values. He is already seen by many as a liberal, big-city politician who says people cling to guns and religion out of bitterness, associates with radicals, and attended a church with a radical theology. Mr. Biden is a fierce foe of gun rights, ardently opposes restrictions on abortion that have widespread support and promotes gay rights. He supports higher taxes, bigger government and socialized healthcare. That doesn’t exactly help Mr. Obama with blue-collar voters in Ohio, Pennsylvania and Michigan. The second is Mr. Biden’s lack of executive experience. Not only has he never been a governor or a cabinet secretary, he has never been a mayor, an agency head, or served in any other executive role, not even prosecutor or military officer. Given that Mr. Obama also lacks that experience, having two career legislators heading the executive branch of our government might create doubts. … More broadly, it cuts against Mr. Obama’s central campaign theme of change. His message is Washington is broken, and the old establishment needs to be swept away in favor of new blood and a new vision. How does picking someone who has been in Washington a decade longer than Mr. McCain jive with Mr. Obama’s contention that Mr. McCain has been in Washington too long to change it?” —Ken Blackwell

“Alas, the abandonment of babies to suffer and die on the modern equivalent of a Spartan cliff did not require confronting evil when Obama saw it. Indeed, Obama turned a blind eye, leading the battle to defeat Illinois’ version of the federal Born-Alive Infants Protection Act, which would have treated babies living, albeit briefly, outside the womb as, well, babies. He opposed the bill in 2003 (as he had a similar one in 2001), saying it would undermine Roe v. Wade. But even after Roe-neutral language was included—wording good enough that it won support for the federal version of the bill from abortion-rights stalwart Sen. Barbara Boxer—Obama remained unmoved. Until this week, Obama denied that he ever took such a position. His campaign now admits that he was, in effect, lying when he said pro-lifers were lying about his record. But simultaneously, Obama defends a position that comes dismayingly close to the layman’s understanding of infanticide while claiming any other position would require him to play God.” —Jonah Goldberg

source

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Obama commentary”

  1. Luisa Moran Carrion Says:

    For the future president of the United States. Mr Barack Obama, first of all it kindly greeting, I hope that you and your family are very good health, although my English is not the best written, I hope to be able to understand this letter. I am, Luisa Moran Carrión of Peru (Lima), I think the Lord Barack Obama, brought to power, much to help immigrants to legalize their status, and also, having a better quality of life, on the other hand, Mr Barack Obama, is observed from the sky and our heavenly father, looks with favor, and wants to make a foundation at the global level, and that within its laws, remove a law in perpetuity grant to create the largest organization globally, because God has heard the cries of their children, who are in extreme poverty, especially in Africa, and he told me in a dream, that if I want, with a blowing destroy the world. Mr Barack Obama, you were elected by our heavenly father, to advise me in this new creation God, his great foundation at the global level, what he wants peace for all their children, especially those who are at war, since this tired of wars, and so much suffering, get an idea Mr Barack Obama, her daughter, every time you ask something, every second, would you like to do, would behave as you might not know how to react, but God in his holy power, bears, which in every moment you ask this or that (without giving anything in return or some satisfaction, even thanking) and much more, of those who are suffering, as
    This is Africa, where people die of hunger and thirst, and also of many other countries where poverty, malnutrition, and disease are killing people, and to deepen over the vicissitudes of the weather in different places, but you are not God to do it alone, so that Mr our heavenly father has been worried about everything, and this message is for you, and only for you but, as I do not like giving it, I do not have a post, where write, I am looking for every possible way, and I’m going to all pages possible, to give this message, I will say that I do not have any, attempt to trick or prominence, publicity. I am a mother, Peru, I never thought that God would choose me, and I ask because I? I am a woman of such low resources and with no influence to this kind of situation, and I say as I could do this?, as I could communicate with you? If it is so difficult and I do not have money at the moment I am writing these words, I could be in response to my youngest daughter, but the truth all these days feel as if it were an obligation for me to write about this mission, not even know how I will pay for the hours I have been writing on the network and seeking contact with you, but I do not care what I ordered and the truth is that a great mission, and you might say, ever thought to be in these situations While it is true, I love God, but I am not a very assiduous to the Catholic church, I respect all kinds of beliefs, respect for all human beings, we have the right of choice, in this way, one night, is deeply asleep and heard a voice, he told me, you are my beloved daughter who at Complacency and my job!, and told me that I had to write and give you a message, but it was only for you but, as I do not have a mail yours, I am sending you a preview of what the Lord wants, you, of course, clear that, he told me, you would be my adviser, for this new organization, and it again, the foundation of God, you do not know sir obama, everything that Mr loves him, and said further that the men were fighting for power and that when they do, they commit to genocide, and that this must end, I know it came into his hands, I will continue writing to all pages as possible, to be able to order a letter from you with an answer, and I will tell you that God in the midst of its immensity, like, we do not forget that he is alive and is watching us, and wants to be do his will, therefore, I am trying to find some means to communicate with you and take many hours, writing, I am very tired, because I’m looking for more on many pages I can not find a way to be able to talk to you, but continuous , As God wants, you and me to become part of this work (the work of God), to you, it will seem very strange, but it is much more to me, I would never imagine me in my vidal as told I do not have resources, but to our heavenly Father nothing is impossible, I’m just a humble servant, am only fulfilling the mission entrusted to me by anything else, I hope to hear from you, God bless you, and see you soon, carefully Luisa Moran Carrion

  2. patricksperry Says:

    Have you been converting coca leaf into crack..?

  3. Bookmarks about Betting Says:

    [...] – bookmarked by 2 members originally found by tcicon on 2008-11-07 Obama commentary http://patricksperry.wordpress.com/2008/08/25/obama-commentary/ – bookmarked by 1 members [...]

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

